When aliens find the remnants of our inevitably doomed civilisation, I hope they at least read the Duffman wiki

Not for the first time, I need to start writing in order to make some kind of non-writing deadline, so that’s what I’m going to do.

Does Duffman have the right to beer arms? I know very little about Duffman, but after this wiki I learned that one of the actors playing him (in show) was bisexual. In that case if he were hairier, would he have the right to bear arms?

After much kvetching, I got my ticket to Janelle Monáe. Believe me, the kvetching was strong with this one. I was all prepped at work. I had my battle station at the ready. I didn’t know the presale code, but everything else was sorted. I had tabs all open: The Facebook event page in case anyone there knew the code. A reddit post where people were looking for the code. The artist’s Facebook and Twitter pages in case she posted the code. Gmail open in case I had an email for the fan mailing list with the code. One of my Facebook posts where I’d asked friends to post the code in case anyone was looking for it. I had the ticket page at the ready to go as soon as they went on sale. Thing is, I didn’t have the code. I tried a bunch of her song names, no dice. I even tried ROSEBUD, but my usual methods yielded nothing. Five minutes after tickets went on sale, none of my friends seemed to have the code. We were metaphorically running around like metaphorical chickens with their metaphorical heads cut off (I’m certainly glad none of those were parables).

A friend of mine came through and messaged me with the code and I spread it like wildfire (it was DJANGO, not ROSEBUD like I’d hoped).I clicked on three GA tickets and waited. It was still verifying my ticket choice. I tried opening another Chrome browser in incognito mode in case there was some issue with that. Still waiting and verifying. I even resorted to Internet Explorer, which was unsurprisingly no help whatsoever. I loaded it up on my phone. Still nothing. I got my friend who I was chatting with at the time to try and she was waiting. She tried her computer, her phone. We were fretting a little while trying not to lose our cool (which was silly, because we were looking for GA tickets and it’s not like they’d all sell out in a presale. There were still another two or three presales to come on Monday) until finally her tickets went through. Success. It sounds like all of my friends who wanted tickets got them and everyone came away happy.

I also discovered today that my work benefits don’t cover Athletic Therapy like I thought they did. It’s my fault for not reading the fine print, but it still sucks. It means I’ve at least put myself out over a few hundred bucks in the past two or so years. Bummertown, population me. It especially sucks because I won’t be able to see my new favourite Athletic Therapist any more. I can still go to physio, but her category of treatment won’t be covered. Yes, I’m still very fortunate to be getting cover at all (though I’ll sorely (literally) miss the days of company sponsored unlimited physio. My aged appendages never felt better), I’ll just have to plan further ahead next time. Physios tend to be more in demand than ATs for some reason. Maybe the aforementioned reason that a bunch of plans don’t cover ATs? The proof is in the pudding.

A photo of my friends and I got used in the event page for a local dance party. They didn’t ask and I don’t mind or anything. It’s a nice photo. I guess I’m struggling to find remarkable things to write about today. So I’m resorting to re-market-able things instead? Funnily enough the ad reminded me about the party (on this Friday) and now I want to go back. The only problem is my metatarsals and other garbage in my foot are all flared up. I would’ve had an Athletic Therapy session tonight to massage a bunch of the crap out, but as it so happens that’s not covered, right? Goddammit, why don’t I have a bevy of self-solving problems? Or a bevvy of self-solving problems.

Then again, I’m not Duffman.

Leave a comment