Hirsute Yourself 7: Fie rebirth.

I have undergone metamorphosis. I have undertaken a journey of strange new worlds and emerged a different entity. Kafkaesque. For clarity’s sake, I’m not a cockroach. There’s a change I’ve always wanted to enact. Try something outside my common experiences. I had a costume party to attend and I figured now was as good a time as any for a revolution.

Okay, let’s quit it with the grandiose imagery and be real for a second. I dyed my hair.

I’m a redhead, a ginger, a carrot top (without a propensity for props), I’ve got beet-roots, y’all.

It’s something I’ve had an interest in for some time. I’ve always been locked into my dark locks and thought something different could be nifty. I’m not a bright redhead, we didn’t go the bleach route. It’s more of a two-tone thing, like those snazzy cars. If light shines on my mop, the red bursts through. It’s a change that I’m getting used to. I keep catching myself staring into the mirror, captivated by the new person who stares back. As part of the costume, a beard shave was beneficial, so I’m staring at a new person who also looks 23. Quite the trip.

The costume in question is for a superhero costume dance party. I settled on a gender bent Black Widow. I know there were more than enough male heroes to choose from, but Black Widow’s a total badass. She’s efficient, intelligent and a slick brawler. What’s not to like? I’m going with my merino thermals, some bullet belt wristbands and a customised belt. Also the red hair, helps sell the image. I thought about holstered guns, but at some point if you’re wanting to shake your ass, peripherals start to get intrusive.

So I’m a redhead now. I don’t feel any different, but it feels like things should. I need to start compiling a list of proper redhead decorum. I guess I should be fiery? Passionate? Quick to anger, action or agitation? Sleek and seductive? Bold and impulsive? Seeker of adventure, experience and stimuli? Courageous? Lively? Confrontational? Did I suddenly switch from a Capricorn to an Aries? A leopard can’t change its spots, but can a goat become a ram?

Not that I’m one who subscribes to zodiaccessorising. I am who I am (and that’s not a ram) because of the ways I choose to react to the world around me, not by buying into mythical woo woo telling me who I should be. We all control how we affect the world, not the inverse. That being said, I could always do with letting a bit more chaos into my life. Going with the flow and following impulses for a while, regardless of my hair pigment, couldn’t be the worst outcome. If I use this change as an excuse to see things through differently tinted lashes, then surely that’s not gonna kill me.

 

Get it? Because it was a dye job?

Leave a Reply

