I’ve found my viridian meridian.

I now own a green suit. For what inscrutable purposes, you may ask? None other than the purpose of trying to turn something unconventional desirable. What’s more, I’ve been searching for a suit such as this for some time. I’d elaborate, but I feel like any further exploration of this topic could do with a new paragraph.

I like the colour green. Have for a while. For much of my teens, lime green was my shade. I didn’t wear it (though frankly I didn’t wear anything that wasn’t black), but I liked how it looked. As time went by, my tastes shifted. I started to enjoy more subtle variations of the same basic colour. My preferences expanded to earthy tones. Kelly green has always been a bit too synonymous with St Paddy’s Day, but Forest greens or even darker began to catch my eyes. Why? Well it’s in there, my eyes. My eye colour at birth was hazel. As I aged, they lightened. The brown receded a bunch and the green came forward. I noticed that when I wore green my eye colour would be more pronounced. Browns worked too, but to a lesser extent. I liked the effect and so sought it out.

A year or two ago I bought myself a suit. A Yale/Egyptian blue one. Spent about $250 after alterations. It was nice, having some fancy duds for hoighty-toity soirees. It was so nice, in fact, that I contemplated getting another one. As I said, I was fond of the colour green and envisioned myself parading around swankily in such a refined garment. I liked the mental image. Of course, it’s so easy for a green suit to appear garish, so I knew I needed a nice one. I thought about getting a really nice one. Custom made, perhaps. As if it was some reward for a yet undefined task I’d accomplished. After a friend showed off his custom burgundy Indochino suit, I thought that could be a good avenue of bringing this to reality. I didn’t follow through. The concept of tossing down $600 or so for occasional threads was daunting. I put it on the backburner. I figured my green suit would come to me if the stars aligned.

I trust you read the opening line, so this isn’t a spoiler: They did. I was at a warehouse sale around the corner from my house. I noticed some dark green blazers on the rack for $50. I own green pants (and happened to be wearing them at the time) so I checked the colour balance with the blazer. No bueno. Plus my pants were closer to chinos, when the blazer was more woollen. Disappointment abounded. I looked at the tables to see if I could find a match in colour/fabric. I found what I thought was a good match of fabric. Unfortunately the colour was way too light. Foiled again. I frankly don’t know why I’m teasing this out. You already know that I bought the suit. In short, I found pants that were a match. For a grand sum of $70 I had my own off the rack svelte green suit. Success.

Now I need to figure out how to dress in a green suit. According to my rigorous skim reading of a few articles I googled, I can accentuate with white or light blue shirts. A black or pale yellow tie could work. Gold is supposedly a good match, so it’s time to load up on my Mr. T style bling. If I wanted to really get out there I’m sure I could find a salmon coloured shirt. Or go for broke with earth tones and couple it with a loamy brown. Maybe this is more fertile territory than I thought at first blush.

I give it a green thumb’s up.

Leave a comment